. welcome you in the country of waterfalls, green walks, hikes, escalation, ski, and balneology, in the heart of the National park of Pyrenees...

Bienvenue Welcome Bienvenidos
Planvenguda a Cauterets....
 
 
 
58 Avenue du docteur Domer 65110 Cauterets. Tel.: 06 83 46 17 84


The valley of Cauterets was lived from the Prehistory. Numerous vestiges (found in particular in Marcadau) give evidence of the human presence in these periods. Romain recognized enough early the thermal qualities of waters cauterésiennes.
In the High Middle Ages, the inhabitants of St Savin lead their herds towards the estives of Lutour. We can think that it is in this period when the valley is going to take the name which it carries even today: La strong smell of sulfur which gets free of sources gives to the place the name of " vallem caldarensem " (valley of the cauldron), or more exactly "Caldarez" who will give "Cauterets" afterward.

 

   
   
   
   


In 945, the 1st Count Raymond of Bigorre makes donation of the valley of Cauterets to the monks Benedictines of the Abbey of Saint-Savin. The village of Cauterets is established at the end of the XIth century by Bernard III, Abbot of St Savin. The XVIIIth century and the Lights put back the fashionable balneology.
It is in this period when the cardinal of Rohan, spread from the Court of King of France, goes to Cauterets, taking with him his secretary, Ramond de Carbonnières. Ramond discovers Pyrenees and can never get loose of these its mountains. Pyrénéisme was born..

     
   

Travelers, mountain dwellers, walkers, you will not remain indifferent to Cauterets, country of waterfalls, forest roads, (Riou, Lisey, road of the Fathers) valleys which are next to Aragon, close, Nérin, Fanlo, but also of peaks, (Cabaliros, Fache, Péterneille, Chabarrou) of soum, ( round summit) of arraillés, of refuges, (Marcadau, Oulettes, Baysselance, Estom, Ilheou)and there, at the bottom of the valley of Gaube, Vignemale is master of places.... it remembers Chaussenque, Lady Lister, Brulle, Russel, Falisse, Arlaud, Olivier, Ravier, Etienne Florence, and all the others, famous or anonymous... Of the summit, you will see the Cirque de Gavarnie, the Néouvielle, the Ossau, in ......... Travelers, mountain dwellers, walkers, these sites hope you in .......

 

Adresse: Trézou & Henri Pont 58 Av. doc. Domer 65110 Cauterets T: 06 83 46 17 84 email: toucous65@gmail.com

.......vous accueillent au pays des cascades, des promenades verdoyantes, des randonnées, de l'escalade, du ski, et du thermalisme, au coeur du Parc National des Pyrénées... .....

Bienvenue Welcome Bienvenidos
Planvenguda a Cauterets....
 
 
 
58 Avenue du docteur Domer 65110 Cauterets. Tel.: 06 83 46 17 84

La vallée de Cauterets fut habitée dès la Préhistoire. De nombreux vestiges (retrouvés notamment au Marcadau) attestent de la présence humaine à ces époques. Les Romains reconnurent assez tôt les qualités thermales des eaux cauterésiennes.
Au Haut Moyen-âge, les habitants de St Savin mènent leurs troupeaux vers les estives du Lutour. On peut penser que c'est à cette époque que la vallée va prendre le nom qu'elle porte encore aujourd'hui. :La forte odeur de soufre qui se dégage des sources donne à l'endroit le nom de "vallem caldarensem" (vallée du chaudron), ou plus exactement "Caldarez" qui donnera "Cauterets" par la suite.

   
   
   
   
En 945, le Comte Raymond 1er de Bigorre fait donation de la vallée de Cauterets aux moines bénédictins de l'Abbaye de Saint-Savin . Le village de Cauterets est fondé à la fin du XIème siècle par Bernard III, Abbé de St Savin. Le XVIIIe siècle et les Lumières remettent le thermalisme à la mode.
C'est à cette époque que le cardinal de Rohan, écarté de la Cour du Roi de France, se rend à Cauterets, emmenant avec lui son secrétaire, Ramond de Carbonnières. Ramond découvre les Pyrénées et ne pourra plus jamais se détacher de ces ("ses") montagnes ... le Pyrénéisme est né. .
     
   

Voyageurs, montagnards, promeneurs, vous ne resterez pas indifférents à Cauterets, pays de cascades, de chemins forestiers, (Riou, Lisey, chemin des Pères....) de vallées qui côtoient l'Aragon, tout près, à deux pas, Nérin, Fanlo, mais aussi de pics, (Cabaliros, Fache, Péterneille, Chabarrou....) de soum, (sommet arrondi) d'arraillés, de refuges, (Marcadau, Oulettes, Baysselance, Estom; Ilheou.....) et là, au fond de la vallée de Gaube, le Vignemale est maître des lieux.... Il se souvient de Chaussenque, Lady Lister, Brulle, Russel, Falisse, Arlaud, Olivier, Ravier, Etienne Florence, et tous les autres, célèbres ou anonymes... Du sommet, vous verrez le cirque de Gavarnie, le Néouvielle, l'Ossau, .........
Voyageurs, montagnards, promeneurs, ces sites vous espèrent .......

 

Adresse: Trézou & Henri Pont 58 Av. doc. Domer 65110 Cauterets T: 06 83 46 17 84 email: toucous65@gmail.com